Who We Are


EAPN Ireland

Established in 1990, the European Anti-Poverty Network, Ireland is a network of groups and individuals working against poverty. It is the Irish national network of the European Anti Poverty Network (EAPN Europe), which has two decades of experience in lobbying for progressive social change across Europe.

EAPN Ireland is made up of over two hundred local, regional and national anti-poverty organisations and individuals.  EAPN Ireland supports members to influence national and European policy through training, information, collective action and networking.

In the last number of years EAPN Ireland has worked on policy and projects such as the implementation of Ireland’s National Action Plan for Social Inclusion the Europe 2020 strategy, which includes a target to reduce poverty and social exclusion and the European Minimum Income Campaign. It has supported participation in the national Socials Inclusion Forum and held events across the country aimed at building a more social Europe and to ensure a strong implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals. EAPN Ireland has also worked with members at local level and with associates at national level through campaigns like the Equality and Rights Alliance, the Economic Social and Cultural Right Initiative, the Better Europe Alliance and the Community Platform.


Paul Ginnell, Director

Paul Ginnell was appointed Director of the European Anti-Poverty Network (EAPN) Ireland in January 2018 and had been Policy Officer there since 2005. He is co-chairperson of EAPN Europe’s policy working group. Paul coordinates the Community Platform, a network of 27 national anti-poverty and equality organisations, and the Better Europe Alliance which engages national and European decision makers on key EU policy developments. Before coming to EAPN Ireland Paul was Coordinator of Westmeath EQUAL, an ESF funded Community initiative, and the Limerick Travellers Development Group. He has also worked for the Irish Traveller Movement, the Association for People with Disabilities Kenya and Concern Worldwide in Sudan. Paul is a qualified Community Worker and has a Masters in Applied Social Studies.

Maureen Gondipon,  Administration and Finance Officer

Maureen is the Administration and Finance Officer and she is responsible for all administrative aspects of our work; inputting, handling and maintaining financial data in our financial system; responsible for updating and maintaining our EAPN membership database; developing and maintaining necessary filing systems; acts as our Health and Safety Officer  and co-ordinates our calendar activities.  Maureen has an MBA (Aston University, UK), BA (Hons.)Librarianship & Information Studies, (University of North London, UK) and Professional Accounting Technician Ireland (IATI).



EAPN Ireland is controlled by its members through Annual General Meetings, which decide policy and elect a Managing Board. The Board is responsible to the members for the day-to-day management of the organisation EAPN Ireland. European Anti Poverty Network Ireland Ltd, is a company limited by guarantee not having a share capital, registered in Dublin, Ireland with registered company number 214663.

Board members for the year 2018 – 2019 are:

Aiden Lloyd, The Rights Platform

Alphonse Basogomba, Intercultural and Diversity Education Centre (IDEC), Ireland

Anne Loftus, Chairperson, Theatre for Change, Galway

Farai Calvin Jeyacheya,  Zimbabwe Heritage Trust

Joan O’ Donnell, Disability-Federation of Ireland

Loraine Mulligan,  SIPTU

Michael Mackey, Simon Communities of Ireland and Galway Simon

Michelle Kearns, Vice-Chairperson,  National Traveller Money Advice and Budgeting Service (MABS)

Sive Bresnihan,  Comhlámh

Tess Murphy, Irish Representative on the EAPN (Europe) Exercutive Committee Longford Women’s Link

Annual reports

EAPN Ireland Annual Report 2010

EAPN Ireland Annual Report 2009

EAPN Ireland Annual Report 2008

EAPN Ireland Annual Report 2007

EAPN Ireland Annual Report 2006

EAPN Ireland Annual Report 2005

EAPN Ireland Annual Report 2004